Shop Find a Program Near You

Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award

Nominations now being accepted for the 2017 Unsunge Hero Award.  Deadline is May 12, 2017.

Each year, a special law enforcement volunteer is honored with the Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award.  The award is given annually to a member of the Law Enforcement Torch Run (LETR) who exemplifies the standard set by the late Ken Davis for community service and dedication to the mission of Special Olympics Oregon.

2016 Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award Winner, Ofc. Pam Ramsey

Officer Pam Ramsey from McMinnville Police Department is this year’s 2016 Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award recipient!

Pam began getting involved in Oregon Law Enforcement Torch Run in 2010 when she was asked to participate in their local Tip-a-Cop and has “ran” with the movement ever since. She has been instrumental in coordinating McMinnville Police Department leg of the Torch Run, their annual Tip-a-Cop, and has also inspired other agencies to start their own fundraising efforts.

In 2015 Pam launched the first annual Oregon LETR Plane Pull at Evergreen Aviation Museum. She picked up this fundraising idea when researching other states LETR events and decided she wanted to bring it back to Oregon. The first event was a huge success, bringing together law enforcement and community teams to test their strength at pulling a plane!

After six years of volunteering her time and energy Pam says it’s the message of inclusion and endless high-fives and hugs from athletes that keeps her coming back for more.

Thank you Pam for all of your support, we’ll keep the hugs and high-fives coming!

2002 Kathy Davis in honor of Ken Davis
2003 Stephen P. Nelson, Coos County Sheriff’s Office
2004 Chief Terry Wright, Tillamook Police Department
2005 Chief Bob Gross, Seaside Police Department
2006 Communications Specialist Dala Steward, Lebanon Police Department
2007 Lieutenant Paul “PJ” Steigleder, Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office
2008 Dispatch-Records Supervisor/Chief’s Administrative Assistant Judy Macho, Reedsport Police Department
2009 Lieutenant Dixon Andrews, Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office
2010 Sergeant Joel Goodwin, Corvallis Police Department
2011 Chief Rock Rakosi, Myrtle Point Police Department
2012 Officer Kecia Weaver, Bend Police Department
2013 Officer Brian Frazzini, Salem Police Department
2014 Lieutenant Jeff Kaer, Portland Police Bureau

2015 Sergeant Gwen Johns, Newberg-Dundee Police Department

2016 Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award Winner, Ofc. Pam Ramsey

2015 Ken Davis Unsung Hero Award Winner, Sgt. Gwen Johns

Sgt. Gwen Johns


Home About Us Sports Events Get Involved Programs Donate Volunteer Contact Us
SPECIAL OLYMPICS OREGON | 5901 SW Macadam Avenue, Suite 200, Portland, OR 97239 | Phone: 503-248-0600 | Fax: 503-248-0603
Copyright © 2010 - 2017, Special Olympics Oregon, all rights reserved. Privacy Policy
Design by Corrales Creative. Powered by VisionSite